If the logger is not stopped before reaching the end of its memory it will do one of two things:
- Stop logging
- Rollover to the start and start recording over the existing data, from the oldest reading first.
Putting it another way, it will contain either:
- The first 2,000 readings, or
- The most recent 2,000 readings.
If you are shipping something but can’t guarantee rapid access to the results, turn Allow Rollover off. That way it won’t matter if the Thermochron temperature logger has been delayed in getting back to you. The original trip is in memory and the unit is waiting for you to retrieve the results.
Most people, however, use Thermochron temperature loggers to permanently monitor an item. In this case turn Allow Rollover on. When the memory is full it will simply start overwriting the oldest data. At any time you can retrieve the results and know that you are looking at the last 2,000 readings. It also means that you won’t have to reprogram the logger each time.